India Signs Open Skies Agreement with Canada

India and Canada have recently finalised an expanded air transport agreement. Canada’s Minister of Transport, Omar Alghabra, announced the agreement’s conclusion between both countries.

The airlines in Canada and India will now have almost limitless rights as a result of the new Open Skies Agreement, after years of being restricted to 35 weekly flights.

Now save up to ₹5000 on flight bookings: Use code “INTFLY”.

Book Flights

In accordance with the agreement, Canadian airlines are free to fly to Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, and Kolkata. Indian carriers are allowed to fly to any two more locations that the Indian government chooses, in addition to Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, and Edmonton.

This step will allow airlines of both the nations to better respond to the needs of the Canada–India air transport market. The new rights under the expanded agreement are available for use by carriers immediately. Going forward, the officials will remain in contact to discuss further expansion of the agreement.

Did you know? An expanded agreement modifies an existing bilateral agreement. It generally provides more flexible provisions to airlines.

For more such updates, stay tuned to ixigo!