Phuket to reopen to fully-vaccinated travellers; Netherlands lifts bans for flights from India and more

Amid the deadly second wave of COVID-19, that caused the increased numbers in severe COVID cases, several countries had banned flights from India.

However, now a handful of countries have opened their doors to visitors from India.

Planning a trip? Book your flights here: 

Book Flights

All the travellers must confirm the entry requirements from their respective airlines before planning the trip.

Here are the major updates: 

> Turkey announced that passengers arriving from India will have to submit a negative RT-PCR test not older than 72 hours before arrival. Also, these passengers are subject to quarantine for 14 days at places determined by the governorship. On the 14th day, if the test is negative then quarantine will be lifted. If the test is positive, travellers will be isolated.

See the official tweet:


> As per the Dutch Government, ban on the passenger flights from India that had come into force on April 26, 2021, has been lifted w.e.f. 1 June 2021. However, they will be required to test negative for the COVID-19 prior to their departure, and ensure that they follow all the quarantine protocols upon their arrival. As per Netherlands’ mandatory quarantine law, travellers will be required to quarantine at a location of their choice for 10 days after arriving in the Netherlands. Some travellers will be exempted from quarantine, check details here.

See the tweet below:

> The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) has announced that Phuket will reopen to fully vaccinated foreign visitors from low-risk countries under strict rules and regulations. This will be effective from July 1, 2021 and travellers will not have to undergo any quarantine. Incoming tourists will be allowed to travel freely on the island and must stay for a minimum of 7 days before travelling elsewhere in the country. For the initial stage, only fully vaccinated tourists are allowed in, with the exception of children under the age of 6.

Official order below: 

Also, as per media reports, London’s busy Heathrow Airport opened a dedicated new terminal for arrivals from countries designated as the “red list” which includes India. Travellers on direct flights from such destinations will go through Terminal 3 and then will move directly to a government-approved quarantine facility booked at the passengers’ own expense.

For more travel related updates, stay tuned with ixigo!