6 More States Announce New COVID Relaxations

With a steady decrease in the daily COVID-19 caseload in the country, Indian states and union territories have started to provide relaxations in a graded manner.

हिंदी में पढ़ें

To make sure that you find all relevant information in one place, today we have curated the latest state-wise guidelines from 6 states: Telangana, Delhi, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

Pay ZERO service charges on your 1st train ticket booking with ixigo:

Book IRCTC trains

Please note: While relaxations are being provided by various state governments so that normal life can resume, we advise our readers to continue taking all safety precautions against the pandemic.


The Telangana state cabinet has lifted the coronavirus-induced lockdown in the state entirely, ordering “all branches to lift all types of regulations imposed during the lockdown in full extent”, starting from June 20.


Taking the unlock process in the national capital further, the Delhi government has allowed bars, gardens, public parks and golf clubs to re-open as part of a new set of relaxations that will remain in place till June 28.

Bars will be able to open from 12 pm to 10 pm with 50 percent seating capacity, and restaurants, which were earlier allowed to open from 10 am to 8 pm, can now stay open from 8 am to 10 pm.


The lockdown in the state, known as ‘Mahamari Alert – Surakshit Haryana’, has been extended till June 28, but the new set of guidelines have significant relaxations: 

> Offices have been allowed to reopen with full capacity.

> Gyms (from 6 am till 8 pm) and restaurants (from 10 am till 10 pm) can reopen with 50 percent capacity.

> Gatherings in open spaces as well as religious places are allowed with upto 50 persons at a time.

> All shops can open between 9 am and 8 pm, and malls in the state can operate between 10 am and 8 pm.


Although the COVID curfew in the state has been extended till June 28, there is a big update that residents can look forward to: the resumption of Char Dham Yatra.

The Yatra will be resumed in two phases. In the first phase, which will begin from July 1, it will be opened for locals from the three districts where the four shrines are located. Kedarnath will be open for people in Rudraprayag district, Badrinath will be open for people in Chamoli district, and Yamunotri and Gangotri shrines will be open for people in Uttarkashi district.

In the second phase, beginning from July 11, the Yatra will be opened for residents across the state. Pilgrims will have to register themselves on the online portal and bring a negative report (RT-PCR/TrueNAT/CNAAT/RAT) with them. The test must have been conducted within 72 hours of arrival.


The state government has divided the districts into two categories: those with a COVID positivity rate of below 5 percent, and those with a positivity rate of above 5 percent, and issued separate guidelines for both:

Tamil Nadu

Although the state-wide lockdown has been extended till June 28, the Tamil Nadu government has divided the districts into three categories based on their caseload, and have provided relaxations accordingly. 

Most importantly, in four districts, namely Chennai, Thiruvallur, Kanchipuram and Chengalpet, metro rail services and non-AC buses have been allowed to resume with 50 percent seating capacity, and people have been permitted to travel in taxis and autos without e-registration:

Stay tuned with ixigo for more useful travel information!