No Sale Of Platform Tickets Starting October 27

No Sale Of Platform Tickets?

What!!! Yes, we had the same reaction too! Unfortunately, it remains so from October 27 till November 5. As per the Northern Railway, there won’t be any sale of platform tickets at the following major railway stations:

  • Old Delhi
  • New Delhi
  • Hazrat Nizamuddin
  • Sarai Rohilla, and
  • Anand Vihar terminal

If you are wondering what’s the reason for such an initiative?

Well, due to Chhath and Diwali festival rush, the withdrawal of sale has been implemented.

However, aged and lady passengers, and those who aren’t in a position to do things by themselves alone, will be exempted from the restriction of “no sale of platform tickets”.

To deal the festival rush, the Railways is running Diwali Special Trains:

  1. Ahmedabad-Chennai Central – Diwali Weekly Special Fare Special Train

Train no: 09462 and 09463

The train will depart from Ahmedabad at 15.10 Hrs and will reach Chennai Central at 23.00 Hrs on next day. The train will be run on Mondays, i.e., 24.10.2016,  31.10.2016, and 07.11.2016.

The last run of this special train is on 09.11.2016, which starts from 24.10.2016 from Ahmedabad and reaches Chennai Central.

Train Number: 09462

  • Frequency: Monday
  • From: Ahmedabad
  • To: Chennai Central
  • Departure time: 03.10 pm.
  • Arrival time: 11 pm (next day)

Train Number: 09463

  • Frequency: Wednesday
  • From: Chennai Central
  • To: Ahmedabad
  • Departure Time: 3.15 pm.
  • Arrival Time: 01.15 am (Third day)

The special express comprises of First AC, AC-2 Tier, AC-3 Tier, Sleeper Class, and General Second Class Coaches.

The train will halt at Anand, Vadodara, Bharuch, Surat, Vapi, Boisar, Vasai Road, Panvel, Pune, Solapur, Gulbarga, Wadi, Yadgir, Raichur, Manthralayam Road, Adoni, Guntakal, Gooty, Tadipatri, Muddanuru, Yerraguntla, Cuddapah, Razampeta, Renigunta, and Arakanam in both directions. Train No.09462 will also halt at Perambur Stations.

  • Train No.09653 Ajmer – Pushkar Special Fare Special Trains will depart from Ajmer at 14.45 Hrs and will arrive Pushkar at 16.10 Hrs . The train will be operational from 01.10.2016 to 15.11.2016.
  • Train No.09654 Pushkar – Ajmer Special Fare Special Trains will depart from Pushkar at 12.25 Hrs and will arrive Ajmer at 14.15 Hrs .The train will be operational from 01.10.2016 to 15.11.2016.

The train will halt at Ajmer, Madar Junction, Makarwadi Halt, Budha Pushkar Halt, and Pushkar.