Starting 1st August Entry to Sri Lanka Becomes Free!!

In a bid to revive tourism, Sri Lanka has now waived off their visa-on-arrival fee starting 1st August. Visitors will still need to obtain a visa at the airport but the government has waived off the fee.

After the easter bombings in Sri Lanka, there was a 30% dip in the number of tourists. Sri Lankan government recently announced, “As the security situation has improved, the cabinet of ministers decided to revive the visa-free scheme and also extended it to seven more countries,.”

Planning a trip to Sri Lanka? Book your flights now!!

Book Flights

On July 10, the Sri Lankan government planned to revive the visa on arrival and free visa programme for 39 countries namely, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States of America, Japan, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Thailand and Switzerland.

Later, Sri Lanka’s Tourism Ministry approved the pilot project to issue a free visa-on-arrival to more countries like India, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, the Philippines, Russia, China and England.