All Metros Including Delhi, Mumbai Identified as Red Zones for Lockdown Post May 3

The government has identified all major metropolitan cities as coronavirus red zones after the lockdown ends on May 3. These include Delhi, Bengaluru, Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Ahmedabad.

According to the exhaustive list prepared by the government to ease lockdown, there are 130 red zones, 284 orange zones and 319 green zones in the country.

Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra have the highest number of red zones at 19 and 14 respectively, followed by Tamil Nadu at 12.

All of Delhi’s 11 districts have been classified as red zones. Along with that, both urban and rural areas in Bengaluru, as well as Mysuru, have been classified as red zones.

In all the containment areas, the government plans on continuing strict measures such as setting up clear entry and exit points, not allowing movement except for medical emergencies and essential goods and services, actively searching for cases through the house to house surveillance and contact tracing of all confirmed cases.