First-ever train with AC Economy coaches revealed!

India’s first train to get AC Economy coaches will make its maiden journey tonight!

Train no. 02403, the Prayagraj–Jaipur Special Express, will leave Prayagraj tonight at 11.10 pm and reach Jaipur by 12.10 pm tomorrow. Running daily, this train boasts two new AC Economy coaches—the first of their kind—with a fare of Rs.1085.

हिंदी में पढ़ें

What’s so special about these coaches, you might ask?

Well, the Railways introduced this new three-tiered coach class, 3E, to offer passengers a pricing midpoint between the existing AC 3-Tier (3A) and the non-AC Sleeper class (SL).

Planning a trip? Book here:

Search Trains

As further 3E coaches roll out, more Indians will get to enjoy a comfortable trip experience at affordable rates, especially during the harsh summer months. Passengers will also get a taste of thoughtful modern facilities. 

Here’s what each coach looks like: 

  • Each coach has 83 berths instead of the 72 seen in AC 3-Tier.
  • Each berth has its own AC vent, individual reading lights and mobile charging points.
  • Each compartment has foldable snack tables and holders for bottles/magazines/mobile phones. 
  • Ladders for the middle and upper berths have been redesigned for easier climbing and to give passengers more headroom while lying down.
  • The coach is disability-friendly, with wheelchair access to the entrance and compartments. The toilets are also built keeping their needs in mind. 

The Prayagraj–Jaipur Express is the first in a long line of trains that will get AC Economy coaches. The return leg on this route, from Jaipur–Prayagraj, will begin trips with these coaches from tomorrow. 

After this, the next route to offer these coaches seems to be Delhi–Lucknow. The Northern Railway has shared this update about four special trains that will run with 3E coaches:

As per media reports, the Railways is planning to roll out over 800 AC Economy (3E) coaches. According to the Hindustan Times, some upcoming routes where these coaches will be installed are Lokmanya Tilak Terminus–Kochuveli, Visakhapatnam–Amritsar and Lucknow–CST Mumbai

Excited? 😄

Feature image credit: @RailMinIndia/Twitter