What are the Different IRCTC Ticket Booking Types?

The different types of IRCTC train ticket booking types are:

General Booking

General tickets can be booked online via the ixigo app. ixigo is a smart travel app that assists you right from you book the ticket to the minute you deboard the train. It offers easy booking, zero payment charges on UPI, hassle-free cancellations and refunds on all your train tickets.

This app allows you to track the PNR and running status of any train with a few swipes. It also has a station alarm that alerts you when it’s time to get off the train.

Other than this, one can also book train tickets offline at the Passenger Reservation System (PRS) counters at the railway station.

Unreserved Ticketing System (UTS)

Passengers can book unreserved tickets via the Unreserved Ticketing System (UTS) app. Although the train ticket booking through this app is paperless, one can get the hard copy from the vending machine installed at the railway stations. 

UTS has an offline mode that allows you to access the train tickets without an active internet connection. The passenger can also buy a platform ticket through the app. They can use the R-wallet that can be recharged up to ₹ 5000 at any railway booking counter.

FTR (Full Tariff Rate)

Full Tariff Rate or FTR allows the travelers to book an entire train or a coach for occasions like marriage parties or tours through the IRCTC website. This train booking is made via the ‘single window booking system.’  FTR booking is only allowed for journeys starting from stations of the Western Railway zone.

Train booking under FTR can be made a maximum of 6 months in advance and a minimum of 30 days prior to departure. Registration in a period of less than 30 days requires special permission from the Chief Passenger Transportation Manager (CPTM) of the zonal railways. 

The individual/party has to provide the journey information including booking type, coach details and route. After the request is submitted, the party gets a reference number and has to pay the registration amount. The IRCTC should receive the amount within 6 days of registration. Once the payment is complete, an FTR number is generated. 

One can book a maximum of 10 coaches on a train for a single tour. However, a maximum of 24 coaches can be booked on an FTR train which includes 2 SLR (Seating-cum-Luggage Rake) coaches. 

The railways have a fixed security deposit of ₹ 50,000 per coach, and for special trains, a minimum of 18 coaches are charged. The payment for the same has to be made digitally. A facilitation charge of 5% is levied on the booking fare of these trains and coaches.

In case of cancellation by either party, the refund is processed through a manual procedure through the Chief Commercial Manager (PM) of the concerned railway.

Stay tuned with ixigo for all train-related information.