Live Train Running Status - NTES

Indian Railways is reasonable as well as comfortable for long-distance travel. Real time tracking of GPS enabled Indian Railways trains helps to Spot your train live location and plan your travel schedule. Live Train Running Status helps you find your train's last reported location along with estimated arrival time and estimated departure time for next upcoming railway stations in the route. It also helps to find out the platform number on which train is about to board. After all, a large number of travellers prefer to travel by rail over other modes of transport like buses and flights. Owing to the enormous railway network, train schedules sometimes go haywire.

Train Running Status via NTES

Check IRCTC train running status in a few easy steps: -
  1. Enter the five-digit train number or the train name in the box.
  2. As the next step, the current station of the train will display on the screen.
  3. All details of train running information such as arrival time at other stations in the journey history will also be available.
  4. If you want to look up for the current train running status of another train, just click on the New Search tab and the search box will reset.
  5. You can check the most recent running status using the shortcut tab.

How to Spot Your Train using ixigo App!

Best way to Spot your train is through or ixigo train app. Steps to find the live train running status;
  • Download the ixigo train app.
  • Enter the Train Number/Train Name.
  • Select the Train Start Date.
  • Find your train current location of the train.
ixigo App Live Train Running Status Features and Details
  • Total Distance to be covered by the train from Origin to Destination
  • Platform number on which train is about to board
  • Distance between the scheduled haults throught ou the complete journey
  • Scheduled Arrival/Departure timing delays, if not on time
  • Estimated Time Arrival/Estimated Time Departure for source and destination station both
  • Total Numbers of haults within the whole journey
  • You could share the train running status details

About National Train Enquiry System (NTES)

  1. Check the train schedule for a particular date using Train Schedule tab. Simply enter the train number and the date of journey.
  2. At first, look for trains which have been rescheduled within the last 48 hours. Use the Rescheduled tab for the same
  3. Trains get diverted in case the route or railway track is faulty. Use the Diverted tab to see all the recently diverted trains and from which stations they were diverted.
  4. Use the Trains Cancelled to see for cancellations due to bad weather, unfavourable conditions, etc.
  5. Check the train running between two stations.
  6. Check all the details related to the train such as passing/leaving from a particular station within 2-8 hours. Use the NTES Live Station feature to receive the live updates of your train.

The live train tracking is very useful as it tells you the current location of the train. For this obvious reason, the availability of NTES train enquiry is highly beneficial as it helps to plan your travel better.

Nowadays, it is possible for you to check the current train status with departure and arrival timings, coach position, current location, etc. You can check all the information provided by IRCTC.

Covid-19 Special Trains Running Status

Check train running status of COVID-19 special trains deployed by Indian Railways.

Find out more information relevant towards your train journey through ixigo such as PNR Status Check, Seat Availability, IRCTC Login, Train Ticket Booking & Tatkal Ticket Booking.

Live Train Running Status(NTES) - FAQs

Q.What is Train Running Status?

A: Train running status provides the current location of any train along with its expected time of departure and arrival, platform number on which the train is arriving and the next upcoming station.

Q. What is NTES?

A: NTES stands for National Train Enquiry System and helps travellers find the whereabouts of their train. It includes features like spot your train, live station, train schedule, cancelled trains, rescheduled trains, diverted trains, etc

Q. What is offline Live Train Status? How does it work?

A: Offline live train status helps to spot your train and ETA for forthcoming station even if the internet connection is not available. To solve any connectivity problems while travelling, ixigo has introduced an awesome feature called offline train running status on its trains app. So, if you have doubts like, Where is my train? Then you will be glad to know that in a few clicks, you will be able to view the live location of your train. This amazing feature will help you to find your train and all the other relevant information.

Q. How can I check if my train is rescheduled?

A: On the ixigo trains app, passengers get information about the live running status of the train. This includes the exact location and newest information about any train.

Q. What is the coach position of a train?

A: Coach position of train means the exact coach position at a railway station. Use ixigo trains app to find the current position of your coach. For example, if the coach position number is 9, it means that it is the 9th coach starting from the engine.

Q. How to Check ETA of the train?

A: To check the estimated time of arrival (ETA), use the ixigo trains app. Simply enter the five-digit train number or the name of the train to find the ETA.

Q. How to check Train Running Status?

A: To check the live status of a train, Enter the five-digit train number or its name to get the current station update. Download ixigo trains app to use this feature.

Q. What is the train enquiry number for Railways?

A: 139 is the train enquiry number for Railways. People can get information about the trains from any part of the country through this number.

Q. What is the meaning of train number?

A: Each Indian Railways train has a number that comprises of five digits. The five-digit number has the first digit between 0 to 9 and each one of them has a different meaning. You can search for the location of your train by entering the 5 digit number.

Q. How to check the train ticket status?

A: To check your train ticket status, you need to enter your PNR number. PNR stands for Passenger Name Record and it is a 10-digit number issued when you book a train ticket. With ixigo trains app, you can just enter 10-digit PNR number without any hyphen in the search box and easily get all the details about the status of your train ticket. Check train PNR status here.