COVID Lockdown & Curfew Update: New Guidelines for Delhi, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, 7 Other States/UTs

Several Indian states and union territories have announced that they will be extending lockdowns, night curfews and other curbs in place to control the COVID caseload in the country.

हिंदी में पढ़ें

Today’s list includes Delhi, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu & Kashmir, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

Please note: Despite the changing guidelines, air and rail travel remains unaffected and passengers can continue to travel to/from airports and railway stations with a valid boarding pass or train ticketHowever, it is advisable that you check the latest state-wise guidelines before travelling.

For all your essential travel needs:

Search IRCTC Trains

Here’s everything you need to know:


The lockdown in place in the national capital has been extended yet again, this time till 5 am on May 17. As per the new order, metro rail services will remain suspended during the curfew time period:


The Haryana government has announced that it will be extending the lockdown restrictions in the state till 5 am May 17, observing this period as ‘Mahamari Alert – Surakshit Haryana’:

Uttar Pradesh

As per media reports, the Uttar Pradesh government has now extended the partial ‘corona curfew’ placed in the state for the second time, till May 17. The order was earlier in place till today, May 10. 

The extended curfew will be observed with the same set of guidelines which were in place during the earlier phases. Essential and emergency services, including medicine shops, grocery and vegetable shops will function as usual under the curfew.


Starting 6 am tomorrow, the hill state will be observing a complete lockdown till 6 am on May 18. Among other guidelines, the official order also states that visitors from other states will be required to register on the smart city portal ( and carry a negative RT-PCR report not older than 72 hours.

Jammu & Kashmir 

The Jammu & Kashmir administration has decided to extend the corona curfew in place in all 20 districts of the union territory till 7 am on May 17:

Tamil Nadu

Starting today, the state will be observing a total lockdown that will remain in place till May 24. During this period, shops selling grocery, vegetables, meat and fish will remain open from 6 am till noon and all other shops will remain closed.

All religious festivals will remain prohibited, and tourist destinations like Nilgiris, Kodaikanal and Yercaud will be closed for tourists. All beaches across the state will also be closed. The state government has also prohibited Chennai metro rail services and inter-district and intra-district bus services run by public and private operators.

Furthermore, people travelling for weddings, medical emergencies, etc. will be allowed to do so with required documents and proof. Travellers arriving from other states by rail will continue to be required to e-register on and will be permitted to travel to/from railway stations with a valid rail ticket.

We advise our readers to check the complete order here.


The union territory has extended the lockdown that was supposed to end today, till May 24. All beaches, parks, museums, gardens and other entertainment venues will remain closed during this period. 

Along with this, there will be a night curfew every day between 10 pm and 5 am, and all shops selling essential items such as groceries, fruits, animal fodder, etc., will be allowed to function till 12 pm without air conditioning:

Stay safe, and don’t forget to follow all COVID-related precautions!