India Revises Guidelines for International Travellers

The Government of India has revised the guidelines for international travellers arriving in the country. The guidelines have been modified amid the emergence of a new COVID-19 variant termed Omicron.

The revised guidelines will come into effect from 11th January, 2022 and will be reviewed from time to time as per requirement.

Planning a winter break? Check our latest flight offers and discounts before booking:

Search Flights

Here are the travel guidelines:

Planning for Travel

  • Submit a self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha portal ( before the scheduled travel, including the last 14 days travel details.
  • Upload a negative COVID-19 RT-PCR report on the portal. This test should have been conducted within 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey.
  • Each passenger shall also submit a declaration with respect to the authenticity of the report.
  • Passengers must also give an undertaking on the portal or to the Ministry of Civil Aviation through concerned airlines that they would abide by the decision of the appropriate government authority to undergo home quarantine/self-health monitoring, as warranted, prior to undertaking the journey.

Before Boarding

  • Travellers shall be provided with dos and don’ts along with the tickets by the airlines/agencies concerned.
  • Airlines shall allow boarding to only those passengers who have filled in the self declaration form on the Air Suvidha portal and uploaded the negative RT-PCR test report.
  • At the time of boarding the flight, only asymptomatic travellers will be allowed to board after the thermal screening.
  • All passengers shall be advised to download the Aarogya Setu app on their mobile devices.

On arrival

  • Travellers from ‘countries at-risk’ will need to take a COVID-19 test post-arrival (self-paid) and wait for results at the airport. 
  • If the test is negative, they’ll undergo home quarantine for seven days, re-test on the eighth day and if negative again, they’ll further self-monitor for the next seven days.
  • Travellers shall also be required to upload results of repeat RT-PCR test for COVID-19 done on the eighth day on the Air Suvidha portal (to be monitored by the respective States/UTs).

The countries that are currently on the ‘at-risk’ list of India are:

Countries in Europe including the United Kingdom

South Africa






New Zealand



Hong Kong









  • De-boarding shall be done ensuring physical distancing.
  • Thermal screening would be carried out for all the passengers by the health officials present at the airport. The self-declaration form filled online shall be shown to the airport health staff.
  • Passengers found to be symptomatic during screening shall be immediately isolated and taken to a medical facility as per health protocol. If tested positive, their contacts shall be identified and managed as per laid down protocol.

Travellers from countries excluding those ‘countries at risk’ will follow the protocol as under:

  • A subsection (2% of total flight passengers) shall undergo post-arrival testing at random at the airport on arrival.
  • All travellers (including that 2% who were selected for random testing on arrival and were found negative) will undergo home quarantine for seven days and shall undertake an RT-PCR test on the eighth day of arrival in India.
  • Travelers shall also be required to upload results of repeat RT-PCR test for COVID-19 done on the eighth day on the Air Suvidha portal (to be monitored by the respective States/UTs).
  • If negative, they will further self-monitor their health for the next seven days.

For more details, check out the official order by the Union Health Ministry:

Stay tuned with us for the latest travel updates!