New Ugadi trains, Shatabdi and Duronto specials: See the list for April 2021

The Indian Railways has made several special train announcements this week. Right on top is news from Karnataka, where 18 trains will run to clear the rush for Ugadi and also provide relief to travellers stranded by the KSRTC bus strike. 

हिंदी में पढ़ें

These Ugadi trains in the Southern Railway Zone will be supported by other new services, which we’ve also listed below. And finally, we’ll move back north to cover new Shatabdi and Duronto express trains connecting New Delhi to Chandigarh, Rajasthan, Punjab and Jammu and Kashmir.

Pay ₹0 Payment Gateway Fees on your first train booking with ixigo:

Search Trains

Here’s the complete list of new special trains

Karnataka gets new trains ahead of Ugadi

Union Rail Minister Piyush Goyal notified the running of 18 express special trains before the Hindu New Year celebrations of Ugadi. The festival is a major event in Karnataka, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh, and sees a high passenger rush as people return home to spend time with their families. 

All the trains are fully reserved, and you can see their schedules here:

Along with Goyal’s announcement, there’s a few other new Southern Railway special trains which are open for bookings:

> 07333 (HubballiDr MGR Chennai Central Weekly Festival Special) will depart from Hubballi on Wednesdays from April 14 at 9.25 pm, and arrive in Chennai by 11.10 am the next day

> 07334 (Dr MGR Chennai CentralHubballi Weekly Festival Special) will depart from Chennai on Thursdays from April 15 at 3.50 pm, and arrive in Hubballi by 5.05 am the next day.

(KSR Bengaluru
Mangaluru Central Tri-Weekly Special) will leave Bengaluru on Saturdays, Mondays and Wednesdays from April 10 at 8.30 pm, and reach Mangaluru by 9.10 am the next day.

> 06532 (Mangaluru CentralKSR Bengaluru Tri-Weekly Special) will leave Mangaluru on Sundays, Tuesdays and Thursdays from April 11 at 6.35 pm, and reach Bengaluru by 6.20 am the next day.

Shatabdi, Duronto specials added from Delhi

The Northern Railway will be introducing five pairs of special express trains connecting New Delhi with Chandigarh, Amritsar, Daurai (Ajmer) and Jammu. Here’s a quick look:

> 02013/02014: New DelhiAmritsarNew Delhi Shatabdi Special Express (daily)

> 04051/04052: New DelhiDauraiNew Delhi Shatabdi Special Express (daily)

> 04053/04054: New DelhiAmritsarNew Delhi Shatabdi Special Express (weekly)

> 02046/02045: ChandigarhNew DelhiChandigarh Shatabdi Special Express (6 days a week)

> 02265/02266: Delhi Sarai RohillaJammu TawiDelhi Sarai Rohilla Duronto Special Express (tri-weekly)

For dates, timings and stoppages, you can see the official tweet: 

We advise all our passengers to read the latest COVID-19 train travel guidelines before booking any tickets, so that they may have a safe journey with the Indian Railways. See you next time!

Feature image credit: Abhinav P. Choudhury/CC BY 2.0/Flickr