Change in train schedules: 5 updates for Delhi, Puri, Chennai and more

Hundreds of IRCTC special trains have been restored recently. While most services are scheduled to run normally, there are a handful of timetable changes for July that passengers should be aware of. 

हिंदी में पढ़ें

These changes include train diversions, revised arrival/departure timings, and the addition of stoppages on certain routes. 

Pay zero service charge on your first train booking with ixigo:

Search Trains

Know more below:

1. The South Central Railway will be diverting nine trains from July 4 to July 8 due to a traffic block in the Vijayawada Division. Several stoppages will be removed from important routes like Tirupati–Adilabad, Vijayawada–Sainagar Shirdi and Howrah–Hyderabad during this period. 

You can check the affected trains and their diverted routes here.

2. Five long-distance trains will be
diverted via New Cooch Behar–Golakganj Jn–Fakiragram Jn due to safety-related railway works planned by the Northeast Frontier Railway. More details here:

3. Six special trains connecting high-rush stations like New Delhi, Chhapra, Ahmedabad and Lokmanya Tilak Terminus have started to run with earlier arrival and departure timings from July. See the official notice here:

 4. Train no. 02685 (MGR Chennai Central–Mangaluru Central SF Special) has new timings. It will depart from Chennai at 4.20 pm instead of 5 pm, and will reach Mangaluru at 7.10 am instead of 9 am. This change is already in effect. To know the complete schedule, tap here

5. The East Coast Railway has added additional stoppages for 11 trains connecting Puri with Gandhidham, Ahmedabad, Ajmer and Okha. See the new halt stations here: 

Make sure to check your destination’s train travel guidelines here before making any bookings. We hope you have a safe trip!