Flying in April? Check the New COVID Guidelines Issued by 5 Indian States & UTs

The onset of April has brought a fresh set of travel guidelines as Indian destinations impose new orders on incoming travellers to tackle the increase in COVID cases in the country.

In order to ensure you have a safe and comfortable journey, we have compiled the latest travel guidelines issued by five states and union territories, namely Uttarakhand, Delhi, Ladakh, Karnataka and Gujarat, most of which have come into effect from April 1.

Get upto Rs.2021 off on flights with coupon code DEAL:

Book Flights

Note: Keeping the ever-changing nature of these guidelines in mind, we advise passengers to check our COVID-19 guidelines tracker in order to get the latest, most updated information regarding their destination state.

Take a look at the new guidelines below:


The hilly state has made the requirement of a negative RT-PCR report not older than 72 hours on arrival mandatory for travellers coming from 12 states. The states are Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Rajasthan.

The new guidelines have come in effect from April 1, and the official document also details certain precautionary measures that travellers are required to follow:


Delhi’s Indira Gandhi International Airport (IGIA) has issued a new update informing domestic flyers that the Delhi Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) will be randomly conducting COVID-19 tests on passengers coming from those states where COVID cases are on the rise:


The new guidelines issued by the union territory make it mandatory for all incoming travellers (by road and flight) to carry a negative RT-PCR report issued not more than 96 hours before their arrival into Ladakh.

The new guidelines, posted by the Department of Information and Public Relations of Kargil Ladakh on its official Twitter handle, further state that travellers who do not have the aforementioned report will have to undergo mandatory quarantine for seven days at their place of stay. 

Along with this, they will be subject to a compulsory COVID test and will only be released from quarantine if the test report is found to be negative. We advise passengers to check the entire official order below:


Travellers coming from Punjab, Chandigarh, Maharashtra and Kerala to Karnataka by any mode of travel are now required to carry a negative RT-PCR test report not older than 72 hours on arrival. 

Travellers must also note that the state government has not issued any specific guidelines yet for travellers coming from other states to Karnataka.


The government of Gujarat has issued a new official order, making a negative RT-PCR test report mandatory for all travellers entering Gujarat. Travellers must note that the RT-PCR report must be issued within 72 hours of arrival in Gujarat. The new order has come into effect from  April 1:

We hope that the compiled list of state wise guidelines help you plan your journey in a better way. Travel safe and stay tuned with ixigo for the latest flight updates!

Top Searched Flight Routes

Bangalore To Lucknow Flights Ranchi To Bangalore Flights | Pune To Jaipur Flights | Kolkata To Bagdogra Flights | Delhi To Leh Flights | Chennai To Pune Flights | Delhi To Bali Flights | Jaipur To Delhi Flights | Kolkata To Hyderabad Flights | Kolkata To Pune Flights | Mumbai To Gorakhpur Flights | Jaipur To Bangalore Flights | Ahmedabad To Bangalore Flights | Jammu To Delhi Flights | Delhi To Dehradun Flights | Delhi To Nagpur Flights | Ahmedabad To Pune Flights | Surat To Delhi Flights | Mumbai To Bhubaneswar Flights | Chennai To Dubai Flights