Fresh travel guidelines issued for 5 Indian states

Are you planning a holiday soon? If so, then this news is important for you! 👇🏻

Five popular Indian states have revised entry rules and travel requirements for passengers.

These states are: Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Uttarakhand and Kerala.

Did you know? ixigo is offering free cancellations on all domestic flight bookings through its ‘ixigo assured’ fares. Tap here to know more about ixigo assured:

Search Flights

Important: Please note that travel guidelines are dynamic and subject to change on short notice. This is only a quick overview—for detailed information, please visit our COVID-19 travel guidelines tracker.

For Maharashtra

Amid the new COVID-19 variant Omicron causing worldwide concern, the Maharashtra government has issued new guidelines for travellers entering the state.

For domestic passengers: To visit Maharashtra, one needs to be fully vaccinated or carry an RT-PCR test issued within 72 hours.

For international passengers: All travellers entering the state from any international destination are subject to the Government of India’s directives in this regard. The revised guidelines will come into effect from tomorrow, that is, 1st December, 2021.

Here’s the official order:

For Uttar Pradesh

The Lucknow administration has issued fresh guidelines for passengers arriving at the Lucknow Airport.

For international passengers: Starting November 28, all international passengers arriving in Lucknow will have to undergo an RT-PCR test and eight-day home quarantine. After eight days, their RT-PCR test will be conducted again. One needs to also provide their name, mobile number, local address and last destination to the airport authorities.

For domestic passengers: All passengers showing COVID-19 related symptoms during thermal scanning will be subjected to a free RT-PCR test. An RT-PCR test will also be conducted on a random basis on 10% of the passengers arriving on domestic flights. Travellers who test positive will be treated as per the state protocol.

Read the official order here:

For Karnataka

As a result of a new cluster of COVID-19 cases detected at educational institutions in Dharwad, Bengaluru, and Mysuru districts, the government of Karnataka has announced the following measures:

Passengers arriving from Kerala and Maharashtra will now have to produce a negative RT-PCR test report not older than 72 hours. The order will be applicable irrespective of their COVID-19 vaccination status. 

Students who have arrived from Kerala to medical and paramedical colleges and other such institutions within Karnataka in the past 15 days (i.e., between Nov 12 and Nov 27) shall be subjected to an RT-PCR test. 

You can read the full order here:

For Uttarakhand

In view of the increasing COVID-19 infection in Uttarakhand, the state government has decided to conduct COVID-19 testing at borders and entry points. They have also decided to ramp up vaccination and contact tracing across the state. 

For Kerala

According to media sources, the Kerala Government recently announced strict travel guidelines for passengers arriving from at-risk countries. Travellers will need to take a COVID-19 test post-arrival and wait for the results at the airport. If the test is negative, they’ll undergo home quarantine for seven days, re-test on the eighth day, and if negative again, they’ll further self-monitor for the next seven days.  

To know the names of at-risk countries, tap here.

Stay tuned with us for the latest travel updates!