Vintage rail car converted into first-class Kalka–Shimla train—see photos!

This looks like a week of big changes for the Indian Railways. First off, we’ve got news about the Kalka–Shimla railway that’ll add a unique touch to the heritage route. 

Secondly, we’ve learned that several Eastern Railway services will be changing their train numbers to resume certain routes. 

हिंदी में पढ़ें

And third? A revision in timings for multiple special trains across India. 

Pay ZERO service charge on your 1st train booking with ixigo:

Search Trains

Read on to know all the details:

Kalka–Shimla heritage rail car transforms into express train

Starting March 18, the UNESCO-recognised railway line will be offering first-class train journeys on a vintage, single-carriage rail car. Converted into a 14-seater daily express special, the rail car will travel from Kalka to Shimla in about 4 hours and 20 minutes and return on the same day. 

Here’s a peek at what you can expect: 

Train no. 04505 will leave Kalka at 5.25 am, stop in Barog at 7.05 am and reach Shimla by 9.50 am. For the return leg, train no. 04506 will depart from Shimla at 11.40 am, stop in Barog at 2.10 pm and arrive in Kalka by 4.30 pm. Tickets for both trains can be booked on ixigo

Change in train numbers ahead of revamped services

The Eastern Railway (ER) has turned several MEMU passenger services into special trains, and has thus notified a change in their train numbers. These trains connect Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar and Jharkhand, and include important stops like Varanasi, Asansol, Gaya, and the Baidyanath Dham railway station.

You can check the revised list of train numbers here:

4 special trains get new timings

> Train no.s 01201 and 01202 (Lokmanya Tilak Terminus–Madurai–Lokmanya Tilak Terminus Weekly Superfast Special) have changed their timings from March 17 and March 19 respectively. See the new schedule here:

Train no. 02642 (Shalimar–Thiruvananthapuram Special) will change its timings at three stations from tomorrow, March 16:

> Train no. 06588 (Bikaner–Yesvantpur Express Special) will be sped up between Gadag and Yesvantpur. As a result, all stops between these two stations will receive new timings from March 16: 

That’s all for today, see you tomorrow!

Feature image credit: @RailMinIndia/Twitter