6 countries suspend flights from India amid COVID-19 surge

As India fights the deadly second wave of coronavirus, 6 countries have imposed fresh travel restrictions on Indian travellers.

The 6 countries are: Singapore, UAE, New Zealand, Oman, Hong Kong & Canada.

Now book your flight with ixigo assured and get free cancellation + vouchers worth Rs.1800

Search Flights

Kindly note: We advise you to keep checking our state-wise COVID-19 Travel Guide before booking your tickets.

Here are the complete details:

For Singapore

All long-term pass holders and short-term visitors with recent travel history (including transit) to India within the last 14 days will not be allowed entry into Singapore from 24th April until further notice. This restriction also applies to all the travellers who had obtained prior approval for entry into Singapore.


The United Arab Emirates has suspended all inbound flights from India, effective from 25th April, for 10 days. The travel ban includes inbound transit passengers with the exception of transit flights coming to the UAE and heading to India.

For New Zealand

New Zealand has temporarily suspended entry for all travellers from India, including its own citizens, because of an increasing number of COVID-19 cases in the country.

Did you know? This major airport to issue Rs.1000 fine on flyers not following COVID rules | Tap here for the details!

For Oman

The Civil Aviation Authority of Oman has restricted Indian passengers. “The ban begins at 6 pm on Saturday, 24 April 2021, and will continue till further notice. This is with the exception of arriving passengers who are Omani citizens, diplomats, health workers and their families. The exempted groups will undergo the prescribed entry procedures when they reach the Sultanate’s land,” read the press release issued by the committee. Also, those who have passed through India in the two weeks before travelling are also barred from entry.

For Hong Kong

Effective from 20th April, Hong Kong has banned flights from India, Pakistan and Philippines for two weeks.

For Canada

Due to the rising cases of COVID-19, the Government of Canada has suspended flights from India for 30 days. During this period, passengers who travel to Canada from India via an indirect route will need a pre-departure negative COVID-19 molecular test result from a third country before continuing their journey to Canada.

Complete details here:

Also read | India on UK’s travel ‘red list’

Travel safe and stay tuned with ixigo for the latest travel updates!

Top Searched Flight Routes

Mumbai To Delhi Flights | Delhi To Mumbai Flights | Bangalore To Delhi Flights | Bangalore To Mumbai Flights | Mumbai To Bangalore Flights | Delhi To Bangalore Flights | Pune To Delhi Flights | Delhi To Patna Flights | Delhi To Pune Flights | Kolkata To Delhi Flights | Patna To Delhi Flights | Delhi To Kolkata Flights | Hyderabad To Delhi Flights | Ahmedabad To Delhi Flights Delhi To Hyderabad Flights | Mumbai To Hyderabad Flights | Delhi To Srinagar Flights | Delhi To Ranchi Flights | Delhi To Guwahati Flights | Hyderabad To Mumbai Flights