10 Delhi Metro Stations to go cashless from January 1st, 2017!

There is some good news in store for Delhi Metro commuters as the DMRC (Delhi Metro Rail Corporation) has announced that 10 Delhi Metro Stations will go cashless from January 1st, 2017, allowing the users to pay/recharge using digital modes of payment.

What Does It Mean?

The new rule will enable passengers to buy tokens and recharge their smart cards using digital platforms, primarily Paytm. The stations at which the service would be implemented include Rohini West and Rohini East on Red Line, Nirman Vihar, Janakpuri West, Mayur Vihar Phase 1, Noida Sec 15, MG Road Station on yellow line, Tilak Nagar,  Kailash Colony (Violet line) and Nehru Place. However, one counter at all these above mentioned stations will have the option of cash payment as well.

Mangu Singh, DMRC chief said “The cashless transactions for token and smart card purchase or top up at these stations can be done through Paytm by using QR-code, which will be displayed at token counters or customer care centre of these stations.” He further added, “People will have the option to pay through mobile wallets such as Paytm in this regard.”

Refunds, if any, will also be done by using Paytm accounts instead of cash and the users will be receiving the amount in their respective Paytm wallets within four working days.